Posted by: Rose's Daughter | July 18, 2008

Other people’s pregnancies

Sooooo.  Sooooo.  My cousin S, who is the youngest in my family at 23, called me today for some advice.  I am a nurse after all, and a Labor and Delivery one at that.  Now, S called me to tell me that she was late…..with her period……….

She took a cheap pregnancy test, and got a faint 2nd line.  A faint second line.

ARE YOU SHITTING ME???

What is this, fuck with my head month?

This girl.  I love her to death, but she sniffs paint!  Her and her husband live with her parents!  He can’t keep a job!  They can’t even afford to take care of themselves much less a baby!!!!!!!!!

I wanted to fall out screaming with the injustice of it all.  But instead, I calmly reassured her and told her to pee on a stick in the morning.  I told her to call me when she does to let me know how it goes(am I a glutton for punishment or what?).  I thought it was well done.  She’ll never know that I wanted to reach through the phone and scratch her eyeballs out.

Why Lord?  Why not me?

Leave a Reply

Categories

