Posted by: Rose's Daughter | September 27, 2009

I wonder, does C-Dub think the noose is tightening around his neck?

It seems like lately, he can’t wait to get out of the house.  I mean, all week long, he works late.  Then, Friday night he tells me that he is going out for a drink with one of his friends.  The friend who was responsible for what I’ll call “the incident” back in April when he failed that drug screen.  Hmp.  It was a drink to celebrate his birthday next week.  It bothered me in the back of my mind, but not enough to fight about it. 

Saturday, I went out to lunch with a group of friends.  Came home, took him to dinner for his birthday. 

Sunday.  I’m cooking dinner.  I hear those magic words:”I think I’ll go watch the game for a couple of hours.”  With his newly divorced idiot friend.  Jeez. 

I want to nip this habit in the bud before the baby comes.  I want to ask him what he is thinking, why does he seem to always need to get away.

Or maybe I’m just paranoid because I’m stuck in the house, bored with no money and nowhere to go. 

Should I say something, or should I just leave it alone?


Responses

  1. Hmmm. I can only say that my husband has done this in the past, and I’ve called him on it. I also crash the party every once in awhile, just to keep him on his toes. Keeps him honest, I say. May be harmless, but may not hurt to remind him that previous offenses haven’t been forgotten, and you don’t want to see them repeated, so mind your p’s and q’s. GOT IT, JERK-O?? This is my usual husband-training technique. Might work for you, I don’t know!

  2. My husb did the same thing all pregnancy long. Mostly because he was sexually frustrated and hanging with his friends before the baby came. It sucks to be home alone and it pissed me off, but time alone helped me to focus on me. After baby came, he is a proud daddy putting his daddy time in.

  3. Let him know that his behavior is bothering you and ask him what’s up?

    PS – Thanks for the bloggy love! 🙂

  4. hmmm, this is quite the dilemma. Is there anyway you can accomanying him to go “watch the game?” Personally, i’m really into this kind of stuff – football, the UFC fights etc., so usually DH and I both go. It helps to avoid making him feel like he has to choose between me or his friends. All of his friends know that I’m into it too, so they expect me to come. I’m almost like one of the guys, except, Im a girl and I’m married to DH.

    If this isn’t an option, perhaps you could talk to DH about his going off and see if he’ll limit it to one time a week or something. Try not to make him feel restricted but instead make him feel as if he thought of the idea himself.

  5. I would let him know that you are bothered by this and you want to talk about what is going on…with everything, you not having a job , him taking on more responsibilities and the baby is coming in the mix of all of this. Sometimes men take a while to adjust and react not like we as women would. So talk to him before it goes any further. He may just need some reassuring.
    Pookie’sa & ME
    GG 😉

  6. I second what Nina said.


Leave a comment

Categories